Bankrupt

I put my money in a bank account
I put my money in a bank account
I put my money in a bank account
But the bank fell down and the money’s never coming back out

I save my money for when I get old
I save my money for when I get old
I save my money for when I get old
But the boss stole the money and I was never told
And I can’t pay the bills and it’s getting cold

Ghosts in the machine
Numbers on a screen
Lying by omission
about cash you’ve never seen, you’ll never see

Put your money underneath your bed
Put your money underneath your bed
If everybody put their money underneath their beds
That’s that: revolution and no bloodshed

Ghosts in the machine
Numbers on a screen
Lying by omission
about cash you’ve never seen, you’ll never see

3 responses to “Bankrupt

  1. This song has been stuck in my head for about 3 weeks. It just goes round and round and round until I have to put it on yet again.

    Good work.

  2. A great song, and very prescient… I upload my version in tribute to the songwriter.

    [audio src="http://www.popround.com/upload/files/mr_tim/bankrupt.mp3" /]

  3. I emailed you many moons ago, about a gig you did in the night+day in manchester, It was good, but short, because of a misplaced wire. You were supporting someone who should have been supprting you.

    Bravo soothsayer.

    I don’t understand these blogs. Evidently.

    Josh

Leave a Reply

