now I know the way to san josé

We’re driving up the I-5 to Sacramento today. Right now actually*, listening to hip hop and Radiohead while I type in the front seat. If Stephen crashes, this laptop’s going through my head.

It’s the first time I’ve seen the flat agricultural America and this is probably the longest flat, straight road I’ve ever travelled on. Miles and miles of farmland, vineyards and enormous cattle farms. It takes several minutes to pass each distressing ocean of crammed cattle, even at motorway speed – and the smell is overpowering. There are moments of real beauty: orange groves interspersed with beehives, soft hills along one side of the road, hawks sitting on treetops. But most of all, that rare sight of a flat land stretching so far that it hits the horizon like it’s a sea.

If they’re carrying chemicals, large trucks have a bucket hanging off the side, with a big sponge. On one is written: “Spillage Response & Defence Kit”. A bucket and a sponge.

We were ripped off about San Jose in the song, it’s easy, you just go up the I-5 til a junction says ‘San Jose right’ and that’s the way. Dumb.

Just ahead of us, a cop just swung his car off the road and piled across the grass, wheels squealing, dust everywhere, bumped onto the opposite lane going south, where a chase is on. Awesome!

*obviously that’s not true. I’ve been behind in blogging, writing them in Word and posting later, which is probably terrible blog etiquette. But now I’m trying to catch up by posting several blogs each day.

2 responses to “now I know the way to san josé

  1. Interesting fact I learned from QI – some roads in America are so long and straight that eventually in the middle of nowhere and completely unexpected, they will turn, and then straighten out again. This is to keep in line with the curvature of the Earth apparently.

    Yup.

  2. I once drove (well, was driven) down a freeway (or possibly an interstate) with the hills on either side, really close, in flames. It felt quite apocalyptic. There were firemen on each side of the road and helicopters above spilling water all over the place, yet somehow the road wasn’t closed and we drove through the middle, coughing like lunatics because I insisted on having the windows open to take pictures.

    On the way back the road was closed for miles and we took detours through parts of California where I’d be scared to get out of the car. (Detours in Central California are a good thing. I think that’s where nightmares come from.)

Leave a Reply

